After a long and continuous period of symphonic activity that dates back to 1845, the Orquesta Filarmónica de Gran Canaria was formed under the auspices of the public foundation of the same name. This foundation was created in 1980 by the Cabildo de Gran Canaria (Gran Canaria Island Government).

The OFGC has performed with some of the foremost conductors, among them Mstislav Rostropovich, Antoni Wit, John Nelson, Pinchas Steinberg, Rudolf Barshai, Raymond Leppard, Leopold Hager, Jesús López Cobos, Christopher Hogwood, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Frans Brüggen, Bernhard Klee, Günther Herbig, Antoni Ros Marbà and Adrian Leaper (Principal Conductor from 1994 to 2001-2002) together with singers such as Alfredo Kraus, Plácido Domingo, José Carreras, Montserrat Caballé, Felicity Lott, Matthias Goerne, Anne Sofie von Otter, René Pape, Petra Lang, Monica Groop, Cristina Gallardo-Dômas, and instrumentalists as Mstislav Rostropovich, Mischa Maisky, Alicia de Larrocha, Joaquín Achúcarro, Gérard Caussé, Dezsö Ránki, Maria João Pires, Isabelle van Keulen, Katia y Marielle Labèque, Nikolai Lugansky, Sabine Meyer, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Janine Jansen, Steven Isserlis and Cécile Ousset.


Paseo Príncipe de Asturias, s/n
35010 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Phone: +34 928472570





made with love from Fuerteventura